Skip to content
Site Tools
Increase font size Decrease font size Default font size default color blue color green color
Wuhan University
Colleges and Universities

Wuhan University is a key university directly under the administration of the Education Ministry of the People's Republic of China. It is located in Hubei Province's capital Wuhan known as "The thoroughfare leading to nine provinces". The university has rolling physical features with the scenic Luojia Hill in it and the beautiful East Lake by its side, seeming in picturesque disorder. Its campus is wooded and green, and has fragrant flowers everywhere all the year round, the buildings are in special architectural styles, magnificent and mansion-looking. For the above reasons, Wuhan University is widely known as one of the most beautiful universities in the world. 

The university dates back to Ziqiang Institute, which was founded in 1893 by Zhang Zhidong, governor of Hubei and Hunan Provinces in late Qing Dynasty after his memorial to the throne was approved by the Qing Government. Later, it changed its name several times before it was named National Wuhan University in July 1928. During the War of Resistance Against Japan, Wuhan University moved to Leshan, Sichuan Province and returned to Luojia Hill after the victory of the war. By the end of 1946, the university had six colleges, i.e., the colleges of liberal arts, law, sciences, engineering, agriculture and medicine. Wuhan University had a glorious revolutionary tradition and enjoyed a very high academic status, with Wang Shijie, Wang Xinggong and Zhou Gengsheng as its successive presidents. Zhou Enlai, Dong Biwu, Chen Tanqiu, Deng Yingchao and Luo Ronghuan, et al. were once engaged one after another in revolutionary activities here, while a great number of well-known scholars like Gu Hongming, Zhu Kezhen, Wu Baoliang, Zha Qian, Gui Zhiting, Ye Yage, Li Siguang, Wen Yiduo, Huang Kan, Yu Dafu, Shen Congwen, Zhu Guangqian, Liu Ze, Liu Yongji, Ye Shengtao, Yang Duanliu and Li Jiannong taught here successively. In 1948, Oxford University of Britain wrote an official letter to the Ministry of Education of the Chinese National Government, confirming that bachelors of liberal arts and sciences graduated from Wuhan University and with average grades above 80 could enjoy "the senior status of Oxford".  

武汉大学是国家教育部直属重点综合性大学,是国家“985工程 ”和“211工程 ”重点建设高校。

武汉大学溯源于1893年清末湖广总督张之洞奏请清政府创办的自强学堂,历经传承演变,1928年定名为国立武汉大学,是近代中国第一批国立大学。1946年,学校已形成文、法、理、工、农、医 6大学院并驾齐驱的办学格局。新中国成立后,武汉大学受到党和政府的高度重视。1958年,毛泽东主席亲临武大视察。 1993年,武汉大学百年校庆之际,江泽民等党和国家领导人题词祝贺。改革开放以来,武汉大学在国内高校中率先进行教育教学改革,各项事业蓬勃发展,整体实力明显上升。1999年,世界权威期刊《 Science 》杂志将武汉大学列为 “ 中国最杰出的大学之一 ” 。2000年,武汉大学与武汉水利电力大学、武汉测绘科技大学、湖北医科大学合并组建新的武汉大学,揭开了学校改革发展的崭新一页。

回眸过去,筚路蓝缕,励精图治,玉汝于成。珞珈山上风云际会,周恩来、董必武、陈潭秋、罗荣桓曾在这里指点江山;辜鸿铭、竺可桢、李四光、闻一多、郁达夫、叶圣陶、李达等曾在这里激扬文字。一百多年来,武汉大学汇集了中华民族近现代史上众多的精彩华章,形成了优良的革命传统,积淀了厚重的人文底蕴,培育了 “ 自强、弘毅、求是、拓新 ”的大学精神。

武汉大学环绕东湖水,坐拥珞珈山,校园环境优美,风景如画,被誉为“ 中国最美丽的大学 ”。学校占地面积5167亩,建筑面积252万平方米。中西合璧的宫殿式建筑群古朴典雅,巍峨壮观, 26栋早期建筑被列为 “ 全国文物重点保护单位 ”。近年来,法学大楼、经管大楼、外语大楼、计算机大楼等拔地而起,成为学校迈入新世纪的标志性建筑。

武汉大学学科门类齐全、综合性强、特色明显,涵盖了哲、经、法、教育、文、史、理、工、农、医、管理等11个学科门类。学校设有人文科学、社会科学、理学、工学、信息科学和医学六大学部36个学院(系)。有110个本科专业。5个一级学科被认定为国家重点学科,共覆盖了29个二级学科,另有17个二级学科被认定为国家重点学科。6个学科为国家重点(培育)学科。 28个一级学科具有博士学位授予权。 203个二级学科专业具有博士学位授予权,284个学科专业具有硕士学位授予权。有29个博士后流动站。设有三所三级甲等附属医院。

The university provide Chinese language courses for international students who are taught by our professional teachers teaching Chinese to foreigners. They train the students from the aspects of listening, speaking, reading and writing. To guarantee the teaching quality, we will divide the students into different classes from beginning, junior, middle and senior levels according to their Chinese language proficiency. The number of students in each class is strictly kept small. 

Period: From half a year to two years. (Please contact Admission Office for details.) 


1.Application period and fees: all the year, RMB 400 in cash

2.Tuition fees: 16500RMB/year

3.Textbook fees: based on the prices of the books

4.Requirements for applicants: healthy, well-behaved, and over 16 years 

Application documents
1. Wuhan University Application Form for Foreign Students

2. One copy of the applicant’s passport.

Application method: students can apply directly to Admission Office, College of Foreign Students Education of Wuhan University.

Please note that your application documents will not be returned.

Enrollment procedures

1. Ask for Wuhan University Application Form For Foreign Students from Admission Office, College of Foreign Students Education. (Students can download such form from the Website of Wuhan University: )

2. Send the application form, application fees and other related documents by post, fax or email directly to Admission Office before the application deadline.

3. Admission Notice issued by Wuhan University and Visa Application for Study in China (JW202 form) will be sent to students screened and admitted.

4. Admitted students should bring Admission Notice, Visa Application for Study in China (JW 202 form) and Physical Examination Record to the Chinese embassy for visa to China (X or F visa).

5. Admitted students should bring Admission Notice, Visa Application for study in China (JW 202 form), passports, personal registration photos (8 for each person) and physical examination forms (Original blood test report, X-ray check-up and the electrocardiogram and etc.) to register at Wuhan University within the registration period indicated in Admission Notice and obtain the Residence License within 30 days after entering China. Students who fail to register within the registration period without proper reasons will be rejected. Exceptions can be made to students whose delay has been granted by the University in advance.

Address: Luojia Hill,Wuhan 430072,China

Study in China | Chinese Education | 211 Project


China Yellow Pages