Skip to content
Site Tools
Increase font size Decrease font size Default font size default color blue color green color
Learn Chinese

The People's Republic of China

 People's Republic of China
The People's Republic of China
(PRC) (zhōng huá rén mín gong hé guó 中华人民共和国) commonly known as China, is the largest country in East Asia and the most populous in the world with over 1.3 billion people, approximately one-fifth of the world's population. It is a socialist republic (specifically a people's democratic dictatorship according to its constitution) ruled by the Communist Party of China (zhōng guó gòng chǎn dǎng 中国共产党) under a single-party system, and has jurisdiction over twenty-two provinces, five autonomous regions, which are Xinjiang (xīn jiāng 新疆), Inner Mongolia (nèi měng gǔ 内蒙古), Tibet (xī zàng 西藏), Ningxia (níng xià 宁夏), and Guangxi (guǎng xī 广西); four municipalities, which are Beijing (běi jīng 北京), Tianjin (tiān jīn 天津), Shanghai (shàng hǎi 上海), and Chongqing (chóng qìng 重庆); and two highly autonomous Special Administrative Regions (tè bié xíng zhèng qū 特别行政区), which are Hong Kong (xiāng gǎng 香港) and Macau (ào mén 澳门).

Last Updated on Wednesday, 30 September 2009 10:48
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 2 of 89

Sponsor Ads