Skip to content
Site Tools
Increase font size Decrease font size Default font size default color blue color green color
History and Culture
Chinese History and Culture

The Terracotta Warriors and Horses of Qinshihuang Mausoleum


The Terracotta Warriors and Horses of Qinshihuang Mausoleum (qín shǐ huáng líng bīng mǎ yǒng 秦始皇陵兵马俑), which is regarded as the eighth wonder of the world, is five kilometers east of Lintong County (lín tóng 临潼), 35 kilometers from Xi'an City (xī ān 西安) in Shaanxi Province (shān xī 山西). Qin Shi Huang (qín shǐ huáng 秦始皇) (259 BC - 210 BC), the first emperor of China, ascended the throne at the age of 13, when construction of his tomb began. On completion of his many conquests, he ordered 720,000 conscript laborers to hurry up on building his royal tomb. It was finished just-in-time in 210 BC for his use. His son, the second Qin Emperor, saw Terra Cotta Warriors and Horses near the mausoleum to his entombment.

Last Updated on Friday, 16 October 2009 09:20
Jade Burial Suit


Also known as "jade casket" or "jade case", a jade burial suit (jīn lǚ yù yī 金缕玉衣) is a ceremonial suit made of pieces of jade in which only some nobles and emperors of the Han Dynasty (hàn cháo 汉朝) (202BC—9AD, 25AD—220AD) were buried. It was a top class burial suit at that time. A total of 49 complete and partial jade burial suits were uncovered between 1954 and 1996.

Chinese Cuisine

      Chinese Cuisine
Different from the cuisine in western world, Chinese people cook food in various ways such as frying, boiling, steaming and stir frying. Chinese people put a high premium on the taste, color and smell of food. Chinese cuisine enjoys the same international reputation to that of France and Italy for its scent, taste and design.

Fictions of the Ming and Qing Dynasties

   Chinese Fictions
In the Ming (míng cháo 明朝)(1368-1644 AD) and Qing (qīng cháo 清朝)(1644-1911 AD) dynasties, Chinese literature entered a new epoch. The two dynasties witnessed great achievements in the creation of fiction. Representative works are the Four Great Classical Novels (sì dà míng zhù 四大名著): Romance of Three Kingdoms (sān guó yǎn yì 三国演义), Outlaws of the Marsh (shuǐ hǔ zhuàn 水浒传), Journey to the West (xī yóu jì 西游记) and A Dream of Red Mansions (hóng lóu mèng 红楼梦). Those works enjoy a high reputation throughout the world. What’s more, they have been adapted for the screen and the stage, winning the favor of global audience.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 14 October 2009 12:25
San Xing Dui


Sanxingdui (sān xīng duī 三星堆), which is situated in Southwest China’s Sichuan Basin, is the location of ruins found dating back to the Bronze Age (qīng tóng shí dài 青铜时代) in the middle and late Shang Dynasty (shāng cháo 商朝) (1600BC—1046BC). The name was given for due to its appearance which resembles three earth pits. Excavation began in 1980. Two large sacrificial pits were later unearthed in 1986, generating great interest internationally.

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 9 of 42

Sponsor Ads