Skip to content
Site Tools
Increase font size Decrease font size Default font size default color blue color green color
Home Travel in Beijing The Five Pagoda Temple
The Five Pagoda Temple
Travel in Beijing

The Five Pagoda Temple

The Five Pagoda Temple (Wǔ Tǎ Sì 五塔寺), formally known as the "Temple of the Great Righteous Awakening" (Dà Zhēnjué Sì 大真觉寺) or "Zhenjue Temple" (Zhēnjué Sì 真觉寺;) for short, is a Buddhist temple from the era of the Ming Dynasty located in the city of Beijing, China.

The Five Pagoda TempleThe structure of the Five Pagodas is known in Buddhist terminology as the diamond throne pagoda style, wherein five small pagodas stand on a large square foundation known as the throne. This architectural form was introduced to China by an Indian monk around the year of 1413, and the Temple of True Awakening was constructed here in 1473. The entire temple complex, including numerous wooden buildings, was renovated and renovated in 1761, but in the late Qing Dynasty (1644-1911) it was looted and burned to the ground, first by the Anglo-French Allied Armies in 1860, then again by the Eight-Power Allied Forces in 1900. Today, the only extant relic is the monumental diamond throne pagoda. Altogether, China only has six diamond throne pagodas nationwide, of which three are located in Beijing, namely, the Five-Pagoda Temple, the Temple of Azure Clouds and the Yellow Temple; and of the other three, one is in Hohhot in Inner Mongolia, one is the Miaolian Temple in Kunming City of Yunnan Province and the last one, the Guanghui Temple in Zhengding County of Hebei Province. Among all the six, the Five-Pagoda Temple in Beijing is the most beautiful one.

The Five Pagoda TempleThe pagoda is composed of the throne foundation and the stone pagoda. The throne foundation made of bricks and white marbles is 7.7 meters high and has six tiers. The five pagodas rise from their rectangular bases on top of this foundation, one in each of the four corners and the fifth in the center. The central pagoda, totaling 8 meter, is slightly higher than the others, with 13 eaves, two more than those in the corners. A door at the foot of the foundation on each of the southern and northern sides opens into an inner spiral 44-step stairway that leads to the top of the foundation. The five pagodas are carved with images of Buddha in five directions, as well as those of horses, lions, elephants, peacocks and the gold-winged birds that served as the steeds of Buddha. Carvings in Sanskrit and in Tibetan provide priceless research materials of the ancient Indian language and Buddhist scriptures. The central pagoda is also carved with a pair of footprints of Buddha.

The Five Pagoda Temple

All parts of the diamond throne pagoda in the Five-Pagoda Temple are symmetrically proportioned, giving viewers an impression of being stable and unshakable.

At present, the temple is not used as a place of religious worship but houses the Beijing Art Museum of Stone Carvings (Bĕijīng Shíkè Yìshù Bówùguǎn 北京石刻艺术博物馆). The Zhenjue Temple has been listed as a national monument since 1961.

The Five Pagoda Temple is located in the Haidian District (Hǎi diàn qū 海淀区) of Beijing, to the northwest of Beijing Zoo on the north bank of the Long River (Cháng Hé 长河). Its coordinates are 39°56′36.96″N 116°19′27.30″E39.9436°N 116.32425°E and its street address is: No.24 Wutaisi Cun, Baishiqiao, Haidian District, Beijing (Bĕijīng Shì Báishíqiáo Wŭtǎ Sì Cūn 24 hào 北京市白石桥五塔寺村24号).

Bus route: Trolleybus Nos. 105, 107 and 111; Bus 320, 332 904, 716, 808 and T6.
Entrance Ticket: 35yuan
Open Time: 08:30-16:30
Tel: 010-62173543  62172894